Congratulations to the 2020 Canada Gairdner Awardees

Research Canada is pleased to join the Gairdner Foundation in congratulating each of the 2020 Canada Gairdner Awardees, announced today. We are especially pleased to congratulate Dr. Guy Rouleau, Director of one of Research Canada’s member institutions, the Montreal Neurological Institute-Hospital (The Neuro), and winner of the 2020 Canada Gairdner Wightman Award.

Dr. Rouleau has been a champion for Canadian health research throughout his career. He was one of the first Presenters to the Parliamentary Health Research Caucus in 2009, leading the way for many, many more Canadian health researchers to present their research to Parliamentarians and inspire decision-makers with their discoveries. Dr. Rouleau is recognized for his outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science as well as his work to identify and elucidate the genetic architecture of neurological and psychiatric diseases, including ALS, autism and schizophrenia, and for his leadership in the field of Open Science.

Learn More About Dr. Rouleau’s Research

While we were unfortunately unable to celebrate with Dr. Rouleau and the Gairdner Foundation today, we look forward to doing so in the future.

To learn more about the 2020 Canada Gairdner Awardees, make sure to watch Gairdner’s announcement video and visit

The Winners

Canada Gairdner International Award
Dr. Masatoshi Takeichi (Japan) and Dr. Rolf Kemler (Germany)
Dr. Roel Nusse (United States of America)
Dr. Mina J. Bissell (United States of America)
Dr. Elaine Fuchs (United States of America)

John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award
Dr. Salim S. Abdool Karim (South Africa)
Dr. Quarraisha Abdool Karim (South Africa)

Canada Gairdner Wightman Award
Dr. Guy Rouleau (Canada)

Watch Gairdner’s Official Announcement

Thank you to our Sponsors